Collaborate

Upload, share, and get feedback on your designs with Framer Cloud. This guide will teach you about project sharing, security controls, previewing on iOS and Android, and mirroring.

Get Started

To upload a new project to Cloud, open your project in Framer for Mac and click the Cloud button at the top right of Framer for Mac.

Clicking Upload triggers a workflow that includes saving your file (if you haven’t already) and uploading your project to Cloud. You’ll receive an in-app notification once it is uploaded, along with a link that opens your project in a browser. A shareable link is also automatically copied to clipboard, making it easy to distribute your links. From this same popover, you’ll be able to navigate to Cloud by clicking Dashboard.

Once your project has been uploaded, you’ll be able to continually sync Cloud to the latest version by clicking Update in the Cloud icon on Framer for Mac. Pro-tip: you can directly save to Cloud by using ⌃ ⌘ S.

Manage

Your Cloud dashboard is a great way to organize, keep track and delete your uploaded prototypes.

You can access it by clicking Dashboard in the Cloud dropdown menu of your Framer for Mac app. You can also open Cloud at any time through https://dashboard.framer.cloud.

Once logged in, you’ll notice all your projects laid out in a beautiful grid view. This is your personal Cloud dashboard, which is not available for public viewing. You can filter projects by name for quick access.

Versions

We’ve also added Version history to Cloud, so you can access, delete, share and download each uploaded version of your project. To access, click on Versions under each project tile to see a list view with date and time of upload. From here you’ll be able to generate a shareable link for a particular version or open it in Framer for Mac. This feature works much like History in Github, giving you a quick way to skim through iterations of your work.

Edit

Add context to your shared projects with titles, descriptions and social links.

Hover over each individual project tile to see options for adding info. Click on Edit to add a project title and description to your project. If you no longer want your project to be shared publicly, hit the Delete button to remove it from Cloud. You can also delete old versions of your project to keep your work history nice and tidy. The latest version of the project will still be available on Framer for Mac.

In the top right corner of the dashboard you’ll be able to access Settings, where you can edit your personal info and add your Twitter profile. This information will be included with every prototype you share publicly.

Security

Control who gets to access your prototypes with Cloud Access. One click to share with all, or notify only specific people when updates are made.

By default, any projects uploaded to Cloud are public, accessible for viewing and download by anyone who has the link. To change this, click the Share button under a project in the dashboard to open a settings modal.

Here you have the option to toggle between public access ("anyone with the link") and private access ("only invited people"). Going private protects the security of top-secret prototypes, while allowing you to invite specific people to the project.

Invitations to join a project are sent via email. Once invited, invitees have 7 days to accept before their access expires. You can keep track of sent invitations via the setting modal. Access can be revoked at any time, simply by clicking the Remove button next to a project member’s name.

Invited people do not need a Framer license to view a prototype. They will receive an email prompt to log in to Framer Cloud dashboard. The project will appear under the "Shared with me" tab.

Enterprise

If you have a Framer Enterprise license, you will see an added layer of protection in your settings modal, allowing you to grant access at a company-wide level. By toggling to this option, you are granting permission for anyone with the link within your organization to view your prototype. However, you may still set it to 'Only invited people' to restrict this access further to specific people within your organization.

Additionally, company admin can configure this panel to restrict public access. This will completely disable the 'Anyone with a link' option and allow only internal employees and specific team members to view your project. Contact us to find out more about this advanced Cloud security option.

FAQ

What does Cloud Access Beta mean?

Though your private projects will always remain private, there may be some interruptions to the service. As part of our ongoing endeavor to build the ultimate workflow for designers, we are still testing parts of this service.



What does Cloud Enterprise mean?

Customers on our Enterprise license will enjoy advanced features such Single Sign-On (SSO), admin management panel, corporate security measures and more. Talk to us about how we can customize Cloud to suit your team’s needs.



What happens to my current shared projects?

Your current projects will not be automatically synced to Cloud. You will need to manually upload each project by clicking the Cloud icon in Framer for Mac and following the prompts.



How do I remove my uploaded prototypes?

Hover over your project tile and click on the Delete button. This project will be permanently erased from Cloud, but will still be available on Framer for Mac.



Can I delete a specific version of my project?

Yes, simply click on Versions to access your Version history panel. From here, you can delete individuals versions of your project. You cannot delete the most current version of your project.



Do I need to create and share a new link each time I update my project?

No, the beauty of our Cloud workflow means you will only need to update on Framer for Mac for your project to be updated in Cloud. Generate a link once, share it with others and they will always have the latest version.

Why did my project fail to upload?

You will receive an error message that explains why your project failed to upload. In most cases, a slow, faulty or nonexistent Internet connection is to blame. Please check your connection and try again. On the rare occasion that our servers are down, we advise that you try again later. If you experience ongoing problems with uploading to Cloud, please contact us.

Device Preview

Nothing beats viewing your prototype in its native habitat. Download our iOS and Android apps to get stunning, real-time interactions with your designs.

To start, simply connect your device to the same WiFi network as your computer and open a prototype on Framer for Mac. Active projects appear automatically. Full gesture control, offline use and enhanced security features are now part of your mobile prototyping experience.

Get Framer for iOS
Get Framer for Android

Mirror

To kickstart a live visual display on any device, click Mirror at the top right of Framer for Mac. You can mirror a project in one of our companion apps, copy the local link or open it in a web browser.

The first time you mirror a project, you will have to enter a security code. You can find this unique code by clicking Mirror at the top right of Framer for Mac. This helps keep your prototypes private, which is useful when using a public WiFi network, for example.

FAQ

How are my prototypes mirrored?

Framer runs a built-in webserver containing all of your open projects. The address is your Network IP address. On save, Framer automatically refreshes your project for live-previewing. The web server doesn’t rely on Bonjour, so it works on all networks, including corporate managed networks. Currently you are only able to mirror the prototype made in the code tab of Framer.

What if I switch networks?

If you switch networks or change your network settings while previewing prototypes, you may need to restart Framer for Mac. By default, Port 8000 will be used. If Port 8000 isn’t available, the next available port will be used.

Why can’t I access the server?

Check if you have a Firewall enabled that is blocking any ports from 8000-9000. You can find your Firewall settings by going to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Firewall.